Opening Ceremony



14:00 – Doors open for guests
14:45 – Guests seated
15:00 – Official start


Welcome by the Master of Ceremonies
Robbie Turner, Director of Pharmacy & Member Experience, Royal Pharmaceutical Society (RPS)

Welcome on behalf of the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP)
Carmen Peña, FIP President

Welcome on behalf of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society (RPS)
Ash Soni,  RPS President

Welcome on behalf of the Scottish Government by the Cabinet Secretary for Health and Sport, Jeane Freeman

Welcome on behalf of the city of Glasgow by the Lord Provost, Eva Bolander

Official opening of the congress

Presidential address
Carmen Peña, FIP President


Awards in Recognition of Excellence

André Bédat Award
The André Bédat Award recognises a pharmacist who is an outstanding practitioner and has made significant contributions to pharmacy at an international level.

Distinguished Science Award
FIP’s Distinguished Science Award recognises an individual or group that has made an outstanding contribution to pharmaceutical science and who has been engaged with the work of FIP.

FIP Fellows (FFIP)
FIP fellowship recognises individual members of FIP who have exhibited strong leadership internationally, who have distinguished themselves in the pharmaceutical sciences and/or practice of pharmacy, who have contributed to the advancement of the pharmaceutical sciences and/or practice or pharmacy, and who have served FIP.

2018 Health Promotion Campaign Award

2018 Pharmacy Practice Improvement Programme Awards

FIP Foundation for Education and Research presentation
John Ware, Chairman of the FIP Foundation

Ton Hoek Scholarship for Global Leadership

Closing entertainment